You’ll take the high road and I’ll take the low road…

Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled

by michelle w. on July 2, 2013

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us OTHER.

___________________________________________

Some people choose to walk on the tarmac of life. Everything must be level and smooth, even if there could be a pothole sometimes.  But others want to walk on the wild side- they prefer the unpaved roads of life.

This photo was taken on the last stretch of the French Route just outside Santiago de Campostela on the Camino.

Image

And I think this was always the 2 choices in my life: the easy way, or the hard way?

I think I lost quite a few opportunities to take the easy way- it seems like the road I have walked in life was always a bit on the rough side…

Image

From the Cruz de Ferro to El Acebo… this IS the road…

Sometimes the road of life is full of rocks and extremely slippery.  And when that road is going downhill fast, and you carry a heavy burden, you can really fall on your face.

But: if the road only was easy, how would you appreciate it when the good times come?  The pain and the sweat and tears makes even the drink of water at the end of the road such a heavenly blessing!

Image

La Faba just before the top of o’ Cebreiro

So- most times I miss the turnoff for the easy road. Most times I consciously or unconsciously choose the road less travelled, to go and see what most people would miss along the way.  But, as I reflect on it in my blog- I am having a fantastic Ride through life!  And the water is sweet and cold…

30 thoughts on “You’ll take the high road and I’ll take the low road…

  1. Oh how i remember that road to El Acebo. Was so happy to arrive! Such beautiful views from the ridge of the walk it was bittersweet as I didn’t want them to end, but my legs were happy to stop for the night!

  2. Pingback: Not a free human | A couple of dollars

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Is Love Enough? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  4. Well my friend we all know that nothing of importance in life comes easily. But the only way we can become strong is by having to walk on the rocky road of life when needed. You have come a long way so keep on walking- you are an inspiration!

  5. Did you consciously notice the flowers alongside the rocky, less travelled road? We tend to go so fast on the easy roads that we miss the beautiful things for free around us. Pity….

  6. Pingback: The Life of a Gumshoe | Cheri Speak

  7. Pingback: Less Traveled | Tommia's Tablet

  8. Every road has twists and turns and ups and downs but I believe our experience of it, depends on the glasses we view it through.JM

  9. Pingback: The Runaway | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | To Breathe is to Write

  11. Pingback: My Parallel Universe | Random, Assorted and Miscellaneous Thoughts

  12. Pingback: The Road Less Traveled: What’s Traveled is Traveled | Khana's Web

  13. Hi there 🙂 I intially follwed this blog when searching for riding blogs (as in horse riding!) but I stayed and followed and I am really enjoying this journey here 🙂
    Great post – I am after cold and sweat water appreciation too 🙂

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | writinglikeastoner

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Paths and Choices | SERENDIPITY

  16. Pingback: meeting a chatmate | just another outlet

Leave a comment