Papa was a Rolling Stone…

Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone

by michelle w. on July 7, 2013

If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRAVEL.

____________________________________________

” It was the third of September.
That day I’ll always remember, yes I will.
‘Cause that was the day that my daddy died.
I never got a chance to see him.
Never heard nothing but bad things about him.
Mama, I’m depending on you, tell me the truth.

And Mama just hung her head and said,
“Son, Papa was a rolling stone.
Wherever he laid his hat was his home.
(And when he died) All he left us was alone”
“Papa was a rolling stone, my son.
Wherever he laid his hat was his home.
(And when he died) All he left us was alone”

Well, well.

Hey Mama, is it true what they say,
That Papa never worked a day in his life?
And Mama, bad talk going around town
Saying that Papa had three outside children and another wife.
And that ain’t right.
Heard some talk about Papa doing some store front preaching.
TalkIN about saving souls and all the time leeching.
Dealing in debt and stealing in the name of the Lord.

Mama just hung her head and said,
“Papa was a rolling stone, my son.
Wherever he laid his hat was his home.
(And when he died) All he left us was alone.”
“Hey, Papa was a rolling stone.
Wherever he laid his hat was his home.
(And when he died) All he left us was alone.”
Lyrics from http://www.elyrics.net

That type of Rolling Stone like the Temptations sang it? No. I can travel alone for a week, but longer than that, I miss my wife too much. So not alone. No.

But would I be able to travel the world with my wife?

In my heart- hell yeah! If budget was no problem, I would be touring the world with my family on a yacht, homeschooling the kids as we sail around the world. There is only one problem (except for the little money constraint of course!) and that is that Mrs Rider gets motion sickness very easily, so I guess the mal de mer would soon follow, and the yacht idea just sank…

Take two…  Last year a crazy family visited our country (maybe it was just in our travel magazine) . I tracked them down on Google. I think they must be the ultimate adventure travelling family:  The Zapp family

Long way round: The Zapp family has grown on the journey. (L - R) The Zapp family Herman, Pampa,Candelaria holding baby Wallaby, and Tehue pose in front of their 1928 Graham-Paige vintage car in 2009 in Australia

One day, more than 13 years ago, Herman and Candelaria Zapp started travelling around the world in a 1928 Graham-Paige vintage car. They are still at it, as far as I know. In the journey they did not stay celibate… 4 kids followed and were born on the journey.

Home: Baby Pampa resting on the family car in 2002 in Washington D.C. The car has become home for the Zapp family and their four children

You can read more about their incredible journey at this Daily Mail link: Are we nearly There yet? 

On the back of their trunk their web address were found: www.sparkyourdream.net 

Now this family is doing it in style, and they wrote two books about the journey already… guess they will come on my wish list at Amazon today:  Dream Chaser, and Spark your Dream.

After a further bit of googling- here are their link to their website: http://www.argentinaalaska.com/blog/We-are

Their facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/22144394768/

So I think this family must get the Ultimate Nomadic Life Award for having no homebase, and seeing the world.

If money was available, I think I would love such a life! If my wife would come along, I seriously doubt!

 

17 thoughts on “Papa was a Rolling Stone…

  1. Pingback: There’s No Place Like Home | Geek Ergo Sum

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Rolling Stone | imexcited

  3. Pingback: A rolling stone | Nanuschka's Blog

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Paradise | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Sailing and leaving Pamplona | Vivir, que no es poco

  6. Pingback: Rolling Stone: Nomad, Traveler or Both | Khana's Web

  7. Pingback: Life from an RV (Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone) | Mike, In Transition

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Rolling Stone Here | My Daily Prompt Blog

    • Everywhere! I would love to go over the Atlantic to South America, and travel from the bottom zigzagging up to the top of Alaska for a start. And I know this would take a few years! That is for a start! 🙂

Leave a Reply

