Table Mountain- not a Tourist Trap… (Daily Prompt)

Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap

by michelle w. on June 3, 2013

What’s your dream tourist destination — either a place you’ve been and loved, or a place you’d love to visit? What about it speaks to you?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us VACATION

___________________________________________

“Tourist trap” can sound like such a negative word. A place that exist to empty a traveller’s pockets without giving any true value for money.

But the one place in the world that really will trap me with it’s beauty and it’s moods is Table Mountain, in Cape Town, South Africa.

I love this mountain. Yearly, we compete the world’s largest timed Cycle Race around it. The Pick ‘n Pay Argus Cycle Tour with 36 000 contestants on the second Sunday of March each year, may it be sunny, rainy, snowy, windy, haily, or during an alien invasion… the Race goes on.

But right around it the Mountain is beautiful in so many different ways. And here is just a few of my memories of it…

Starting with the most recent- this weekend was quite stormy weather there…

Image I love her on a clear day..Image

I love the roads like Chapman’s Peak going around her sides…  (where we really hurt during the Argus…) Image

I love her views, like the view of Hout Bay from Chapman’s Peak… Image

Image

Hout Bay harbour

Image

Simon’s Town on a rainy day

Her beaches are beautiful:

Image

Bloubergstrand

Image

Clifton beach

Yes, I love Table Mountain in all her moods…

Image

I would really not mind seeing Table Mountain more often in my life…

6 thoughts on “Table Mountain- not a Tourist Trap… (Daily Prompt)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Tourist Trap – Poem / Poetry – “Destination Destiny” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: Where I’ve Been Since January | Wining Wife

  3. For you who don’t know me- I live totally across the country from Cape Town, and far, far away from any sea. That is why any visit to Cape Town is so special for me…

Leave a comment