Containers- Weekly Photo Challenge

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/containers/

I know, I know- I am stretching this theme A LOT! But here is my entry: an aerial container full of Russians!

At our town’s Fly Inn over the weekend, the star attraction was the visit from this old biplane- an Antonov 2. Some say ( In a Jeremy Clarkson voice) that this might be the biggest single engine aircraft in the world…

It looks extremely heavy, but I saw with my own little eyes it takes off, fully loaded in under 100 meters!

So ladies and gentlemen, for your entertainment: my container full of Russians, the Antonov 2:

_MG_1286 _MG_1290 _MG_1292 _MG_1331 _MG_1412

 

For more interesting reading on the history of the Antonov AN 2- read here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonov_An-2

Just an update for my regular readers- the Apple Juice did not work. I had the mother of all gall stone attacks at my mother in law’s place, and no, it was not her poisoning me. I have a lovely mother in law! Really like her. So… tomorrow my wife is taking me to the big bad city, and on Wednesday I am having surgery taking out my gallbladder. I thought I would be hopping, skipping and jumping out of there, but my GP told me just now to be prepared for 2-3 days in hospital and 2 weeks sick leave afterwards.  So… the Rider might be the Shadow for the next two weeks. This is my first operation ever, really scared- you know the saying: “Any surgery on ME IS major surgery…”  So- it might be a while before I ride again!

Sorry Seegogga, ek het regtig my bes probeer met die appelsappies…

9 thoughts on “Containers- Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Ag nee! So jammer om te hoor! Dit het gelukkig vir my ma uitstekend gewerk en vir haar ‘n operasie ( en baie geld, pyn en lyding) gespaar. Baie sterkte met die operasie. ek hoop dit loop goed af en dat jy daarna lekker eisbein en ander lekkernye kan eet.

    • Wel, het dit probeer, en darem gewig verloor! 🙂 Kan net nie meer die onvoorspelbaarheid van die aanvalle hanteer nie, dit was erg toe dit my in die middel van die nag in Orkney beetpak en ek nie eers ‘n disprin daar gehad het nie. Met die opkomende motorfietstoere kan ek net nie daardie kans vat nie, sê nou dit gebeur een aand in Swaziland… so ek kies nou maar die uithaal opsie en hoop dit gaan nou beter gaan. Maar regtig nie lus vir die heel eerste operasie ooit nie…

Leave a Reply

