A Bucket List Item becomes reality!

Bucket List Item # 19 became a reality last night! Quite a lot of my friends know that I have never tasted a real lobster or crayfish yet. So yesterday one of my friends, on holiday at a nearby beach, showed up at our holiday house. It turns out that he, always talking to strangers unlike me, met a retired police officer at the rocks. ย And this police officer happened to have a frozen crayfish or two in his freezer, as well as a fish closely resembling a Barracuda, that he has sold to my friend.

And so our friends surprised us last night- we had a Cape style evening with fish on the coals, as well as sweet potato and a reasonable amount of red wine that was consumed. As well as the frozen crayfish, that might have been caught when it was still in season… ย For my kiddies I bought calamari rings and shrimp, which was also delicious!

IMG_1550So now I also have finally tasted crayfish- I think Lobster is reserved for those with the 2 huge claws? And no, it does not taste like chicken! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1574

8 thoughts on “A Bucket List Item becomes reality!

  1. Daar is baie min op aarde sooo lekker soos ‘n ou Kaapse kreefie op die kole!! Jy maak my baie jaloors!! Ek hoop daar was genoeg vir almal!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    (My bek water!!) ๐Ÿ™‚ So ‘n ou stukkie Jasus Lalandii sal darem nou lekked afgaan!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Wow! This is how provincial my life is…i just said to myself “never had lobster??” Than I realized not everyone grew up in New England where lobster is a weekly thing (if you can stand the messiness of eating it!)
    Crayfish is fantastic! I ordered it for the first time in a restaurant in New Orleans, realized what I’d been missing all my life and now buy it whenever it looks good at my supermarket’s seafood counter! It was kind of hard to come by up north but here in Florida they sell it all the time!

    • In our country it is really expensive in restaurants, and where I live we are quite far from the ocean. My friends in the Cape sometimes have their contacts to get some, but I am never there in the open season… So I just never could afford it yet…

  3. We lived on the coast of Maine for three years. We knew many lobstermen, when we would visit them they would put a few more lobster into the pot, each a lb to a lb and a half. They are wonderful, hope you get to check them off your bucket list. there is nothing like a lobster. Great post.

Leave a Reply

