Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon

Horizon. The space or line where the sky meets the earth. So many places where the sky meets the earth around the world, and millions of interactions between two elements. It can be water, a city skyline, a forest, a wasteland, a desert, a sunset outside your bedroom window. Is there a particular horizon which speaks to you?

In a new post specifically for this challenge, share a photo which means HORIZON to you!

I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

– Sara Rosso

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/25/weekly-photo-challenge-horizon/

______________________________________________________________________________

This is the horizon of my town where I live- taken from a hill about 4 km out of town…  (cell phone unfortunately…)

2013-10-16 14.49.52Nearly all my time is spent on the piece of earth on this photo. Even my favorite cycling route is visible here- going to that hill on the horizon left. From my house to there is 16 km. During the Great Trek the Voortrekkers thought they have reached Egypt when they saw that hill, Kranskop. They were trying to get away from the British Empire…  The town on this photo, in the distance around the grain silos- Nylstroom.  “The stream of the Nile”… This is my horizon where I live.

The other horizon that I love:

IMG_0304The Amphitheatre in the Natal Drakensbergs- I grew up about 150 km from here and love the Mountains of Natal…

I also love the horizons of the Western Cape Province of South Africa

IMG_0086

Grapes and Sandstone mountains…

But the best loved one of them all:

IMG_0814Table Mountain, Cape Town, South Africa! Going with my bicycle around it once a year in the Cape Argus Pick ‘n Pay Cycletour…

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon | Processing the life

  2. Perfect depictions of the lovely horizons of South Africa — I admit I do not typically think of such vistas when South Africa is mentioned, so I appreciate your sharing them. I hope to have the chance to travel there some day!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Horizon | patriciaddrury

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Panoramic Horizon Of Calblanque | Jake Kuyser

Leave a Reply

