A Love story in my garden…

It is Spring here in the Bushveld. It is the season for new life.

And so I glimpsed this beautiful scene just outside my bedroom window… one of my favorite bird species is the African Hoopoe   (so called for his cry…)  Scientific name: Upupa africana 

There was a young pair of them on the grass. They are searching for some juicy worms in my lawn (of which there seems to be a lot of!)

_MG_0558They are moving so fast that it is difficult to capture them on a photo!  When the male found a nice fat worm, he immediately hopped over to the female, and gave it to her. This is where I am getting frustrated with my telephoto lens- am missing some sharpness in the photos- sorry!

_MG_0565But it is the season of love for the Hoopoe… may they be happy ever after in my garden!

_MG_0561

13 thoughts on “A Love story in my garden…

  1. Pingback: Hoopoe eats worm, video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Pingback: Hoopoe in the Netherlands, video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  3. How lucky you are to see these birds.I kow they are still to be seen in Germany and France of course.But it is very long ago it was a common bird in the Netherlands.Thanks for sharing these pictures.What a nice present Father gave you at the beginning of the day.

Leave a Reply

