Thank you…

Daily Prompt: Thank You

by michelle w. on September 11, 2013

The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone).

Photographers, artists, poets: show us THANKS.

_____________________________________________________________________

I am thankful for being away from people this week. I am thankful for the beautiful part of the world that I live in… and that beauty is all around me. It is spring in the Bushveld. It hasn’t rained since March. It is dry, and the veld are prone to runaway bushfires. Yet the trees are flowering in the hope that rain will soon come. The birds and animals are mating- a new season of life is starting to happen. When the rain comes, everything will be just alright…

Let me show you just a few things I have seen this week, that I am thankful for…

Image

No, not Cape Buffalo like last time… this one is not so dangerous… it is a Blue Wildebeest that is asking: What are you looking at, punk?  They tend to be a bit grumpy…  But their best friend is always somewhere near- ask anyone who has seen the Wildebeest Migration in the Serengeti (I did not yet…)

Image

Hopefully everybody recognizes a Zebra… They and Wildebeest are best of friends… the one can’t see so good, the other can’t hear so good, so together they have a much better chance of survival… I wish all the people of South Africa could take this to heart…  We do not have to be the same to help each other to be great!

And one of my favorites of the Bushveld: Pumba from Lion King. There are thousands of them around our town…

How can you not love the Warthog? And this one has a spring in his step…  (Mating season?) Image

Image

Dombeya rotundifolia

In the veld, all around our town, the Dombeya Rotundifolia is flowering… It has the most beautiful and ugly names in Afrikaans… Beautiful- “Nooientjie van die Bosveld”-  or Bride of the Bushveld. And “Drolpeer” or Pear looking like a turd… describing it’s fruit.  As I said- the Bushveld is very dry. But the trees are flowering- new life has begun in spring…  And for that I am thankful… the Spring coming after every Winter…

17 thoughts on “Thank you…

  1. Great post, I share your thankfulness for these things. More people should look to get happiness from simple things. I love warthogs too: they are 1 of the Ugly Five, but I think they are cute!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Thank You | Joe's Musings

  3. And now I am off to get a last few photos before sitting around a last campfire tonight. I am alone tonight. And tomorrow, it is back to reality… I hope you all have an awesome day, with something to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

