Focus- Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

by Cheri Lucas Rowlands on August 23, 2013

Focus. This week’s challenge is inspired by Matthew George’s post on focus, in which he introduced us to the basics of depth of field and aperture. He explained what an image with a shallow depth of field looks like (or conversely, a photo with a greater depth of field), and how the aperture setting on your camera affects it. For this challenge, get out there and take a picture demonstrating the concept of focus. Depending on your skill level or type of camera, tinker with the manual settings, use the auto focus feature, or play around with an app.

___________________________________________________________

This is still a learning experience for me- going off from full automatic!  And any helpful advise would still be greatly appreciated, as there are a lot of you out there whose photographic skills I greatly admire!

_MG_0026

Canon 400D, 55-250 lens, 131mm, F5, 1/4000 s ISO 1600

_MG_0024

Same Camera and lens- F29, 1/135 ISO 100

_MG_0040

Canon 400d, lens at 225mm, F5.6, 1/125s, ISO 200

And so I am just playing with my camera and my wife’s container of flowers… Trying to learn some skills…

IMG_0092

Canon Powershot SX150is F5.6, 1/125 s, ISO 400, 60 mm

36 thoughts on “Focus- Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Pingback: Eternal Flames – Kandy, Sri Lanka | alternative.reality

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | The Panama Adventure

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | Sonel's Corner

  4. Pingback: Vase Photo Study | Jake Kuyser

  5. Pingback: soarlikeeagle | Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | An Ant’s Perspective

  6. Pingback: WordPress Photo Challenge: Focus (2) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | unexpectedincommonhours

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | Say It With A Camera

  9. I particularly like the third image. Nice use of depth of field. If I were to offer any advice based solely on these photos, first would be that judging by the light, I can’t see a reason to use such a high ISO as you used in the first photo, and I would stay away from apertures much, if any, smaller than f/16. Especially on a crop sensor camera like the 400D. You will get more apparent DOF, but as a result of diffraction you will lose sharpness.

    And for what it’s worth, I’m using a semi-automatic mode, Aperture Priority, 90+% of the time. Only switching to full Manual very rarely for tricky exposures.

    Lastly a gear recommendation. If there is one single piece of gear that has improved my nature and landscape photography more than anything, it’s a good tripod. Your photos will be sharper, and if you’re a little lazy at times like me🙂, you’ll look more critically at what you’re thinking of photographing, and decide if there really is a photo to be made.

    That’s it. Likely more of my “two cents” worth of advice than you ever wanted😛

    • Hi Jeff- no, this is exactly what I asked for, and thanks a lot! I took these pictures on the AV setting, and played around to see the effect of going way off the charts… I still have to learn a lot, and you have given me valuable feedback.

      On the gear side- my daughter is studying Graphic Design, with Photography as one of the main subjects… guess where my tripod resides at the moment? And with the cost of keeping her at college, there just is no money left to buy a new one…🙂 Thanks for taking this time, I really appreciate it!

      • Any time, I really enjoy being able to help. If you ever have a question, I’d be glad to help.

        I know the pain of tuition. Our daughter is in private school, and the tuition, even with a good financial aid package, is putting a hurt on the budget. But the local school system in a word sucks, so it’s the education she deserves, or a lot more money in the bank. Thank goodness for that financial aid! But that’s a whole different story. Suffice it to say, if I don’t sell the photos to pay for it, my wife won’t let me buy any new gear😀

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | To Breathe is to Write

  11. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Focus | The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  12. Pingback: Photo Project ’52 Bolivian Sundays’ [week 34, 'Focus']. | 3rdculturechildren

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers in Focus | What's (in) the picture?

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | booksinthekitchen

Leave a Reply

