VW Beetle restoration is the Devil…-

Number 2 is getting to the age where he can get a driver’s license, and be another menace on the road…

I am not in the position to buy yet another car.  So I must use what is available- my old VW Beetle. My son loves it!

There is just a few small problems. Like a little lack of money. And a total lack of mechanical ability. And the part between the front and rear number plates needs replacement.

To ride, we had to fix a broken fuel cable. I have waited patiently for a friend for 6 weeks, who have promised to help. The last was: early next week- and it is now 3 weeks later… So I decided to try and fix it myself.  How difficult can it be? Youtube has such awesome teaching clips. Or so I thought. Look at this one:

3 minutes 7 seconds worth.  And the dude takes 2 minutes of that to take his hotrod out of the garage, and then drive his old Beetle into the garage. Can’t he just post: “Look at my F******** hotrod!”   And then in the remaining minute he gives absolutely no practical advise that can help me…

Bummer. I broke the circlip when I tried to put the new cable in. So it was off to the parts shop. I bought 3 circlips, but fortunately ran into a young man of our church, who said I can call him if I do not get it right. I should have asked him there and then.  But the man in me wanted to prove I would survive in the Ice Age- I tried putting that circlip in myself. It is a very small one. And my reading glasses are missing. My Petzl headlamp got new batteries, but no joy- it has gone through the river Jordan…  I have a circlip pliers, but managed to launch all 3 circlips into near earth orbit- I suspect that the digital signal from our satellite telly  will end soon… due to foreign object impact or something- must be the Russians…

So I sent my wife to the spare shop to go and buy another 5 circlips, (it wouldn’t do my ego much good to appear there as a loser…) and i was covered in 45 year old German grease anyway. I called the young man to please come and help his pastor. Well, he got that circlip in place in 30 seconds… took me more than 2 hours before I dared ask for help…

He also pushed the cable through all that impossible corners that the German engineers thought up to make my life a misery- have you ever tried that? Getting a fuel cable from the pedal through to the back at the carburettor on the Boxer engine? It must be easier delivering a baby… Much bigger space to work with…  🙂

After he have left, we tried to go for a little celebration cruise. But another problem has hit us. It will not go into any gear at all. When the engine is switched off, no problem- smooth into any gear. When the engine is going- no gears available at all. And all the websites says it sounds like taking the engine out time…

I have reached the end of my patience. And I still have to get to a sermon for tomorrow morning, it just is not happening at all at the moment. And my wife is looking very angrily at me, she hates it when I lose my patience…

So not a happy ride today…  😦

IMG_0506

The Devil…

4 thoughts on “VW Beetle restoration is the Devil…-

  1. Pingback: Good Friday- another view… | The Rider

  2. My daughter would LOVE an old beetle. We have an old Volkswagen Jetta we tell her she is getting. Lucky for me my husband is very mechanical, me not so much!

Leave a Reply

