Change- Today’s Project- VW Beetle seats for my Barbeque

After 3 long days of working with tons of meat, today was finally my day off.  I should be working on 2 sermons for Sunday. But there was an idea that was building up in my dark and stormy subconscious.  And the matter is like this:

Years ago I got an extra set of seats from a friend for my VW Beetle. But they didn’t fit- the seats was from a model a year or two later than my 1968 1500 model. And the rails on these seats were more than 15 millimeters narrower than my Beetle’s. So these seats were just laying around under the awning in my backyard.

This morning, when I woke up, I just had this inexplicable urge to create something. There is lots of old scrap iron in my back yard as well, maybe I am a hoarder. So this afternoon, seeing that it is my day off, I decided to put an old plan into action.

This is the state of the old VW Beetle (Bug) seats: Image

They were just looking for the junkyard. So I started cutting some scrap metal up with my angle grinder, and this time I used the necessary eye protection!  And then I started welding. A Professional welder would weep at the quality of my welding!

ImageI also had some seat covers I bought a while ago for my Pickup. They didn’t fit so good. So I welded 2 base sets for the Beetle seats, one with little castor wheels and the other without, that I can sit on the grass next to my barbeque fire- a true South African dream- and here is the end result of this afternoon’s efforts:

IMG_0499
Seat # 1 has little wheels to move around between the fireplace and the table…
IMG_0500

Seat #2 does not have wheels, to sit comfortably next to my bbq fire on the lawn…

These seats were test driven tonight, better than Top Gear style! And they passed the test! What a barbeque! And the Boerewors we made yesterday tastes great! (Sausages! )

So today was creative, and now I am more than extremely tired after 3 hard days of working with meat, and today’s working with iron.  I think it is now time for bed! Enjoy your weekend!.

I indeed changed something worthless into something extremely valuable for me,.,, Change!

Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday

by michelle w. on August 16, 2013

You experience your own Freaky Friday, and switch bodies with someone you love/hate. Tell us what happens.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CHANGE.

13 thoughts on “Change- Today’s Project- VW Beetle seats for my Barbeque

  1. Pingback: Mission to Mars, Never to Return, What Would You Miss the Most? | Annie's Blog

  2. Pingback: The Airport Delay… | Annie's Blog

  3. Pingback: Good Friday- another view… | The Rider

  4. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and
    said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but
    I had to tell someone!

  5. Pingback: Body Swap Beastliness | alienorajt

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | My Atheist Blog

  8. Today was my youngest sister’s birthday- she would have been 43 today, but died at age 15 of cancer. 16 august is never a good day anymore, and in 4 days it would have been my father’s birthday, he died in 1993 at age 55 of a heart attack. So i tried to put some creative energy into today. But it didn’t work completely…

Leave a Reply

