Photography- my Focus problems…

Please be patient- I am still a novice at photography. The past few days I have evaluated some of my recent photos, and I am still experiencing basic focus problems. I am practising a little to try and get it right. I am also just playing around to get some emotion captured in some shots…  So any good advice is welcome.

The first two were taken at dusk in my mother’s garden, The next two: this afternoon we went out to a farm where they produce goats cheeses. I played around a little with the camera, trying to hone my skills…

All these were taken by my Canon 400D with Canon 55-250 iS lens, no flash, and I think all in Aperture Priority…

_MG_1115

f 5.6; 1/6 sec, ISO 200, 194 mm focal point

_MG_1091

f 5.6, 1/8 sec, ISO 400, focal point 240 mm Canon 400D with Canon 55-250 iS lens

_MG_1160

f5.6, 1/6 sec, ISO 200, 84mm focal point, sepia added on Photoscape

_MG_1162

f 8, 1/80s ISO 200, 96 mm focal point, Aperture Priority setting

14 thoughts on “Photography- my Focus problems…

  1. I like the sepia wheel; also the close up. Interesting subject! I also think the close up would look amazing in sepia! I’ve recently purchased a new camera, and I’m on a similar journey as yours🙂

  2. Lovely shots, I agree regards shutter speed in the first shot. It’s not unusual to lose a few shots to blur if the subject moves in the wind ect. I think they are great🙂

  3. Good evening
    Many beautiful pictures the:
    You have given many likes your pictures are so beautiful and the pictures have earned it.I’m from nearby Essen Duisburg Oberhausen, this is if they know that.In the Ruhr area in Nrw.Mein name is Andrea
    If you have subscribed to me and follow me can they see a better my older articles in the reader and like if like.They have a beautiful Sonntag.Herzlichst Andrea

  4. I agree with Adoonsie on your first shot. Time of exposure makes a huge difference. How do you hold your camera? If you hold your camera with your left hand lens sitting in the palm of your left hand (then grab the lens tight. You will get a much more stable photo. Plus taking

  5. Ok.
    First photo is out of focus due to camera shake / shutter blur.

    On a 200mm lens your shutter speed needs to be way faster. At least 1/200 or more. Stabilised lens or tripod may have helped although I am guessing that the tree may have moved in the wind.

    go take a look here and play with the settings. Might help a bit. http://camerasim.com/camera-simulator/

    Feel free to ask and I will try to help where I can

Leave a Reply

