From Pilot to Skypilot…

Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

by michelle w. on August 5, 2013

When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you? Are the two connected?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DREAMS.

_______________________________________________________

When I was 10, I wanted to be a pilot… (Still do!)  I grew up just underneath the main runway of our country’s main air force base. My uncle was an officer there.  So from a very young age I was familiar with military aircraft.  And maybe there is not a lot of boys who did not go through the Top Gun dreams- but I certainly would have loved to fly jet fighters.  It never crossed my mind to be a killing machine, taking other human lives. No, the beauty of flight, the adrenaline of speed, those were the things that inspired me.

When I was still at school, I also went through a Louis L’Amour phase in my life. I still own all his books, more than 100 paperbacks, that have taken much wear and tear over the years. In his books he talked about pastors as “sky-pilots”. That is the nearest that I ever got to being a pilot…🙂  Maybe I am a kind of navigator, helping people to find their way in life…

But the Pilot dream still lives strong. As you have seen 2 weeks ago in all my blogs about our town’s Fly Inn.

I would love to share some Dream photos- this is one of the most beautiful planes in my eyes- a 1947 model Swift- such Classic beauty!

_MG_0931

_MG_0649

_MG_0511

Just some of the Aircraft related posts this past few weeks:

https://vosperdruiter.wordpress.com/2013/07/20/fly-inn-modimolle-nylstroom/

https://vosperdruiter.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/tilted-ailsas-weekly-travel-theme/

https://vosperdruiter.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/the-happiest-vw-beetle-engine-ever/

https://vosperdruiter.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/my-best-photo-ever-i-think/

6 thoughts on “From Pilot to Skypilot…

  1. After reading about you passion for being a pilot … if I were you – I would just go for it.The dreams bikes you have for-filled – so just get the wings too. *smile – Top Gun, one of my favorite movies …

  2. My son always dreamed of being a pilot, too. Your post brought back memories of his childhood for me. He was constantly showing me pictures of different planes and telling me what they were. Now, he’s in the Air Force. He isn’t working as a pilot, but when he shows me around base, I glow with pride. I so admire him and anyone else who works to make their dreams come true.

  3. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

  4. Pingback: Daily Promt: When I Grow Up! | The Story of a Guy

Leave a Reply

