Conquering Kilimanjaro…

A friend of mine is going for the summit of Kilimanjaro today, on Nelson Mandela’s 95th birthday. This friend, Wollie Wolhuter, is the chairman of the board of the Abraham Kriel Children’s Home in Modimolle (Nylstroom), looking after orphans and children placed in a place of safety.

He had a dream since boyhood to one day climb Kilimanjaro. This dream was kept alive for 46 years. And when his children finished university, he started saving for his dream. He used the dream to also do a bit of fundraising for the Children’s home.  And every one of the nearly 180 children signed a flag- with their dreams written on it, which he plans to take to the summit.

Wollie is doing this after a hip replacement due to a nasty fall in the Great CAnyon in Colorado.  But he is usually reasonable fit, he is a much better cyclist than me. So I really hope and pray that he, and his son Herman, and Gerhard Snyman climbing with them, will have good weather today. They started the final climb at 01h30 mountain time.  I really hope they can cope with the height and have the wonderful experience of summitting…

We do not have any communication with them at the moment- as pastors (him and me…) can’t afford satellite phones.

I started on the facebook page of the climb to play a game: if we could play them some music on this 21 hour climbing day, what would we play?

I thought of these songs:

What can you think of to put on the virtual playlist to play for the people on Kilimanjaro today?

The beautiful words of the song by Juluka: 

I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
All my heart is yearning
Like a candle burning in the night
Seasons keep on turning
Sometimes hard to keep up the fight
I will climb the ancient mountain
I will find the last flicker of the light

CHORUS :
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
I can see a new tomorrow
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
I cast aways all my sorrows

What a strange strange freedom
Only free to choose my chains
So hard not to weaken-
Just give up and walk away
I will climb the ancient mountain
I will find the last flicker of the light

CHORUS :
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
I can see a new tomorrow (oh follow me up)
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
I cast away all my sorrows (oh follow me up)
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
It thrills me right down to the marrow (oh follow me up)
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
I can see a new tomorrow

Um ho um

CHORUS :
I’m sittin’ on the top of Kilimanjaro
I can see a new tomorrow.

I’ve reached the sun.

 

17 thoughts on “Conquering Kilimanjaro…

  1. Dans my na die liefde toe. (Koos van der Merwe sing Leonord Cohen). Is dit nie ‘n dans (stap) van liefde nie? Deesdae as ons (vrouens) ‘n ooievaarstee reel, kry elke gas ‘n helium-ballon om ‘n wens vir hierdie ongebore kind die hemelruim in te stuur. (Nie seker wat dit aan die atmosfeer doen nie, maar dit voel net so reg om ‘n nuwe mensie te omvou met die aller aller beste wense.)

  2. Bo-op Sinaiberg het ons die dag gesing: Op berge en in dale, en oral is my God! 🙂
    Toe ons weer sien is daar Taiwannese wat ons afneem. En hulle wil graag saam met ons afgeneem word. En hulle sing, in hulle eie taal, saam!!!

Leave a Reply

