Words don’t come easy…

Daily Prompt: Your Life, the Book

by michelle w. on July 13, 2013

From a famous writer or celebrity, to a WordPress.com blogger or someone close to you — who would you like to be your biographer?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us WORDS.

_________________________________________________

I am writing this just after my favourite Super 15 Rugby side (only the Aussies, Kiwis and Saffas will understand) the Blue Bulls, lost against the team from Cape Town, the Fartlets… (Stormers)

I am very sad, and the tears are streaming down my cheeks… I can only see a vague picture on my laptop, and the keyboard is soaking wet…

Then Michelle asks who must write my biography…   I shall have to schedule this writing for tomorrow morning just before the next Daily Prompt comes out, I may have to delete it, before I get into trouble with my Church Board again… Yep, schedule it for 03h10 when all the elders are still asleep…

I love reading, and own a few thousand books. Some hard copy, and some ebooks. This is one of the book cases in my office at home- there are a few more in our home, although not as big as this one- does it count as the picture for “Words”?  There are many, many words in these books… And yes, I know, the chaos has hit my desk again…

Image

Of all the authors I know, I have to choose one to write my biography…

My favourite book author is: Image

And not in the photo, next to Cathedral is Plum Island, Wildfire, Talbot Odyssey, Night Fall, Up Country, and The Lion… They all would not fit into one photo and still be legible… see…

IMG_0001

I would choose Nelson deMille to write my story. And I would ask him to do it in the John Corey style…

I am not really like John Corey.. but I admire him deeply. I still wish that these books get to be Hollywood Blockbusters, and my favorite choice for John Corey would be Bruce Willis. So Bruce can play me in the Blockbuster movie…

What I admire about John Corey is his sarcasm- he has perfected it to a T! I wish I could be a little bit more like that… although it might be troublesome for my church board, pastors are not usually expected to reply with sharp wit and sarcasm, even if people talk the biggest load of  (This is where I usually land on the red carpet… Jammer oom!)

I would also love to get to the right answers eventually, because in my work we listen a lot, but do not always get the results we so deeply desire…

So this is me- John Corey style- passionate about my work, passionate about my beautiful wife, fortunately not an ex-wife in sight who thinks cooking and ****ing are two cities in China (de Mille fans will know, and if I say it, I am in deep s***!) Getting results. And hopefully get on planes more, but not like in Night Fall… .

I do not get any endorsements from Nelson deMille, but he can send a cheque if he wants to…  I own all his books. Nelson is a Vietnam vet, and he is a member of Mensa- that means he has a little bit more upstairs than me. It shows in his books, I love his humor and sarcasm weaved into all his books.

If I could choose a blogger, I think… now I am going to get it, because I have made a lot of friends… This is going to be trouble… I nominate Sherri Jo from kangamerican fame to fly over to  the African continent, but she must bring her KTM along. And then we travel a bit through Africa, and she can figure me out and publish my book… But her life is much, much more interesting than mine, I would rather buy her book if I were you…

I could ask my wife, she is a much better writer than me, but deleted her blog because she didn’t like the South African blogging world’s politics at litnet, a local platform now using WordPress as a base (but I can not get from here to litnet…)  My wife would basically say that I was like the game sold at auction yesterday, wild, and did just want to eat, drink and make love…  She doesn’t even read my blog… So maybe you as reader know more about me than my own wife…

So, up till this point my life would not sell many books. The Story of an Ordinary Man...

But maybe, behind that title could come: … who dared to dream… ?

And if that was all to this story, I think it would be enough for me…

And that, as Forrest Gump said on his bench in Alabama, is all I have to say about that…

PS, I have much more hair than Bruce Willis…

PPS- And the Soundtrack should include Queen- The Show must go on, and the end titles must have the music video of Dire Straits, Brothers in Arms, please…

6 thoughts on “Words don’t come easy…

  1. I really do understand your passion for rugby. We were watching a Super 15 game last night, and someone was red-carded early in the first half. Totally ruined it for me!

Leave a Reply

