A Rider for Good…

Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal

by Krista on June 29, 2013

You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LONGEVITY.

___________________________________

Today’s Daily Prompt is so right up the alley of the Comic Book Genre- Immortals who can make or break the world around them. Immortality is a favourite theme- as a child I loved the original Highlander movie with that immortal Queen song: “Who wants to live forever...” 

A more recent movie that I like would make my dear church elders frown a bit.  Ghost Rider

The story of the daredevil who became immortal and now ride around at night, ridding the world of all evil, where it may rear it’s ugly head…  a typical Marvel story!  

Now listen, I do not want to be burning, my pain toleration levels are way too low for that. I surely also do not wish to be a Ghost…  and I do not have any magical powers yet…

But this is a fantasy, somehow a special potion made me immortal and invincible…

I would still, like the Ghost Rider, do good.  This world will never be perfect, and there will always be people who are in need of some help. If I am immortal in this sense, or not, does not make any difference to my life’s point of view.  Most religions also have a sense of accountability of what we do with our lives.  A while back I said in a daily prompt if there was only one rule, it would be for me to do unto others as I wish they would do to me… I try to live that principle every moment, with every person crossing my path.  Storybook story, or real life, this is me… 

I really get a boost when I am able to help someone in need.  It is so good to give food to hungry people.  It is good to help elderly people with their daily chores- go do their shopping for them, or change their light bulbs.  I am not mechanically blessed enough to try and fix their cars or appliances…  

I think there is still the knight in me who wants to rescue damsels in distress.  If I am held accountable for my life, even if not, it gives me great joy when my children describes me as someone who respects women.  I love it when I am part of the solution of the position that women often find themselves in.  I want to be a safe, caring friend in need. If I had superpowers, I think I would love to beat the crap out of any man who hits a woman, or abuse a child!  But I am not a very good fighter, and I am too slow to run away…  Superpowers are definitely needed in this terrain… 

But… I do not yet have the superpowers needed to help everybody around me. I do not have the immortality that this potion promises. But I do have choices, and with my limited powers and resources, I choose to make the world around me, where I can, a little bit better…

If everybody did that, this world would be a much better place to live in and be happy, I believe…

7 thoughts on “A Rider for Good…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Too Impossible? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: No Longer a Mortal | mycookinglifebypatty

  3. Pingback: Too much pain, too many tears | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. Pingback: I’m On Medication And Can’t Come Up With A Title For This Prompt | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: No Longer a Mere Mortal: Almost Immortal – Bhishma’s Tale | Khana's Web

Leave a Reply

