Happy citizen of the 21st Century!

Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen

by michelle w. on June 25, 2013

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

__________________________________________________

I am so happy to be alive right about now. There is no other time in history I would rather live in than today.

I think it has a lot to do with gadgets…  I am absolutely hooked on the Internet. It is such fun to have all the information of the world available on my laptop!

When I was still in the primary school, reading was the best discovery ever for me. I had a hard time fitting in with my peer group. The school’s library became one of my favourite places to be during the breaks…  There came a day when there was nothing new to read in the whole school library.

Today, I  am still the same curious person. I still love reading. And by reading a lot of people’s blogs I still get transported to places on the other side of the world from me, like Hawaii and Thailand and Japan, and…  I get to read of people on Route 66, or diving in the Red Sea.  I get to follow people walking the Camino de Santiago. I read a little bit of history, a little bit of sport… what an exciting world!

With the Internet, I also am very good friends with my Samsung Galaxy S3- to have all those apps to play with- I never get bored anymore!

And then- I still do not own a tablet. But I bought myself a Kobo ereader last December. To have a couple of thousand books with me all the time- that is simply heaven on earth!

So I am firmly a citizen of the 21st century. I love the Information Revolution. I love living now- I love being connected…  So please leave me just here, Doctor Who…

One thought on “Happy citizen of the 21st Century!

Leave a Reply

