Have a little bit of faith…

Daily Prompt: In Good Faith

by michelle w. on June 14, 2013

Describe a memory or encounter in which you considered your faith, religion, spirituality — or lack of — for the first time.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FAITH.

______________________________________________

Maybe my regular 3 readers thought that I would write a long long story on this one, being a Christian pastor.  Maybe you expected photos of my church building, or St Peter’s in Rome, or the Santiago Cathedral where the Camino de Santiago ends…  Maybe you expected stories of high church and low church, of Catholics or Evangelicals, or Orthodox or Pentecostals. Maybe you wanted to know who I think is right or wrong, maybe a kick at those damned atheists… Sorry to disappoint you all…

My faith is not about church buildings, or who is right or wrong, adult baptism or infant baptism, I do not care if you have the eucharist with small glasses or big mugs, bread or matsos, I do not want to be the judge over what is sin or what is not…

My faith is a relationship. I believe that Jesus has said it so beautifully when all the religious folk of that time confronted Him in Matthew 22:34-40: My religion is to love God with all my heart and soul and spirit and strength, and my neighbour as myself.   My  faith is about love changing the world, nothing else. No violence in the name of God. No fighting with people who have other beliefs than mine.  No throwing stones at people who society said are sinners.

Love changes everything. God’s love changed my life. And I want to change the people around me with love. Nothing else.

So I dearly wanted to write just this one word, and it would be enough: LOVE!

Ok- a photo of faith- in my church- the remembrance meal the Thursday evening before the Good Friday: Each time you eat this bread, each time you drink this wine, Remember Me! Then go into the world, and love your neighbourImage

 Sorry for the red hue- there was a red spotlight on this table and the photo was taken with my cellphone…  I am not that good in Photoshop to change it…

8 thoughts on “Have a little bit of faith…

  1. Pingback: A MARRIAGE AND ITS PRECIPICE | hastywords

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In My Mother’s Good Faith | Humbled Pie

  3. Pingback: My First Search For God | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | Alastair's Blog

  5. So true! Too many people turn against religion because of what people do to in church buildings. Faith goes much deeper than an hour every Sunday. Well said!
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

Leave a Reply

