Say my name, but in secret… (Daily Prompt)

Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

by michelle w. on May 28, 2013

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Photographers, show us  YOU.

_____________________________________

I have had this weird experience in the blogging world. I write just like I am… and it happened two times now that people traced me, and used my blog as a weapon against me. No, actually three times now, including this year.  One time the atheist complained to my church board about me, the other time a very religious, pious guy complained with the Synod…  And then I had the “little chat” about my flavored language that kept popping up in Afrikaans, words like thunder and lightning- very very bad words… You know, I write all these dangerous statements all the time, damaging people’s reputations, tearing the church down… I might even be a closet ax murderer… So my name is not that obvious in this blog…

Every now and again it just keeps popping up,
Would you believe people could be that nasty?
All the time, I have to hide my name, as if in shame…
Let this be a lesson be to you all,
Damned if you do, damned if  you don’t…

And as my daughter so cruelly started to publish my photo last Friday: Here I am, this is me…  The friend of all the naughty people in the world- “he mixes with sinful people…”  Image

Somewhere in Belgium- was it Leuven? And in Warmbaths, South Africa, with Uncle Jack…

Image

Sometimes I am fit… 2 day’s before last year’s Argus Cycle Tour- mind the beautiful cycling helmet hairdo…
ImageSo this is me. I took 45 years to do it, but in year 46 I am happy with who I am, I am enjoying my life, and I have made the best I can of the name my parents chose for me.
It would help a lot if I were not THAT allergic to beer and good food, that I could look like the Super Athlete I am deep inside…   My wife loves me more than 51% of the time, my kids love me the day or two after payday, and I am blessed with some really good friends in life…

Judging by the people surrounding me in life…  I am happy…

 In my daughter’s eyes…

12 thoughts on “Say my name, but in secret… (Daily Prompt)

  1. Pingback: Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Ewald you and my husband have so much in common.He always wants to be on a pic with a statue, like you he doesn’t fit in any box. Christian people being wicked? I have experienced this.No I will not talk about it.I can only say there are many builing their own kingdom and saying they are building Gods kingdom
    Have a great and blessed day.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | Alastair's Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Say Your Name | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: My Name Is . . . | A Short A Day

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | writinglikeastoner

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About A Name | My Daily Prompt Blog

  8. ooooo……. ek is gewaarsku….. 😉 Rowwe foto’s!!!
    En dit sê ek, Magdalena Anna vir jou!
    Ag, ons lees lekker hier. 🙂 Jy is steeds my maatjie, ek glo dis wederkerig…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

