Smartphones: Blessing or Curse (Weekly writing challenge)

Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap

OMG can u believe it? We’ve had the internet in our pockets and purses for almost six years: Apple released the first iPhone on June 29th, 2007, and the first Android-powered phone followed in 2008. As of November 2012, 85% of U.S. adults owned a cellphone. We use phones to check the weather, text one another, shop, take pictures and video, and sometimes even talk to one another. They’re convenient and fun, but are they ruining our focus and souring our relationships?

SMARTPHONES: BLESSING OR CURSE?

_________________________________

 My Smartphone has become part of my close inner circle of friends.  In fact- now that I think of it, it is so close to my heart that it needs an intimate name….  Samsung Galaxy S3 just is too long to say.  Sam Gal could be confused with “Some Girl” and then my wife would be really hard on my case…  So let me just call her… Tanya.  That was always a beautiful name for me.  Why a girl’s name? If a guy spent this time with me, I would really be uncomfortable.

Tanya is really busy in my life. She:

  •  Wakes me up in the morning with a gentle piece of music. Not like that witch of a Blackberry Torch that screamed at me to get my lazy ass up with a shrill demonic shriek….
  •  carries all my friends’ details around in her head, and she can store thousands of them… I can only remember my wife’s cellphone number from my human memory… some really bad sectors there, and no defrag available yet…
  •  carries the master copy of my calender. This is also why she is a woman- she orders me around the whole day…
  •  when I do go out to get some exercise, she carefully monitors my progress and tell my friends on facebook how lazy I have become again.  (Endomondo Sports Tracker app).
  •  She plays my favourite music to keep me calm, or to pick me up…
  • She takes photos that are really beautiful, I am not always able to carry a larger digital camera with me, and she is there to preserve the memory instantly…
  •  I can read my favorite blogs wherever I go, I don’t have to go look for an Internet café  to read something on the net, or to get my emails…
  •  With email, phone, SMS (text), skype, whatsapp- I have all the communication tools available to communicate with anyone, anywhere…
  • Late at night, I lay in bed, say goodnight to the Universe via Google Skymap, and look a last time at that last comment you left on this blog.
  •  Then I read my Bible verse on You Version App, and pray for Life, the Universe and Everything… may the answer be more than 42..  (And no, I don’t like prayers on facebook…)

Yes, Tanya is a blessing in my life… BUT.

  • It really hurts when you loose a smartphone.  It feels like death in the family…  Like when that Blackberry Torch was stolen in March… Suddenly all unsaved data is gone… all the photos that I did not back up yet…
  •  It takes over your life- I am now available 24 hrs per day, and even reachable when riding my bicycle 30 km out of town.
  •  When I am down, I still get all the sad stories on facebook immediately, and the black hole deepens…
  •  The Blackberry Torch drove me to the edge of insanity with all the software issues, and the 13 times it rebooted daily…
  •   And my biggest gripe- with all the communication ability that a smartphone provides, I found that interpersonal communication has become much shallower… people don’t talk anymore… they do not look in each other’s eyes. They do not share a bottle of red wine next to a fireplace, they just text in 160 characters, or Tweet in 140…

Communication between 2 persons is 7 % words, and the rest is facial expression,  and body language. A smart phone misses 93 % of communication, and this 😦 just does not speak like a tear or a sigh…

So- a smartphone is also a Curse…

My conclusion, dear fellows of the Royal Society of Science and Nonsense therefore is: A smartphone is like fire- if you use it well, it is a wonderful tool. If you misuse it, it will burn you…

Here endeth the lesson…

6 thoughts on “Smartphones: Blessing or Curse (Weekly writing challenge)

  1. Pingback: Is the Internet Ruining Human Interaction? | Stuphblog

  2. Pingback: Os militares, como todos os demais cidadãos, estão submetidos aos mesmos direitos e deveres || Comissão da Verdade acusa Marinha de mentir já na democracia – Ronaldo – Livreiro | SCOMBROS

  3. I loved that. I have a smartphone, an HTC Desire. At one time back in th dark ages I had a Nokia Communicator. It was the latest kid on the block, and the first to combine phone, text and Internet etc.etc. I kept it for years and only stopped buying Nokia because by the time it needed replacing the re-design has altered everything, so the desk cradle, the batteries, the charger were ALL different. I fear that this will go on happening, and since we ship all the rubbish that this causes out to India we don’t see the environmental damage this causes. This is also because we don’t have to look into the faces of the people who scavenge the parts of our discards to make a living. A double curse, for we no longer talk to our friends or think about our neighbours as we are too busy eyes down at our screens.
    Bring back pencil and address book AND conversation?

Leave a Reply

