Dulled- no thanks… (Daily Prompt)

Daily Prompt: Dulled

by michelle w. on May 20, 2013

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

_____________________________________________

Dear Mister Magic Man- please go away!  For I am the Rider, I need all my senses just as they are!

Image

Sight:

  • If I were to loose my eyes, I would not be able to ride my Bike. Motorcycling would just not be possible, for a navigator is not fast enough to tell me how the apex of the curve must be taken…
  •   I would not be able to see my beautiful blue BMW just waiting to go for a ride…
  •  I would not be able to see the wonder of nature, which I so enjoy to explore on two wheels.
  •  I would not see the love in her eyes, the smiles of my children.
  •  I would not see a red rose bud unfolding.
  •  So I need to see…

Sound:

  •  I need to hear the friendly growl of my Boxer engine
  •  I need to hear the wind rushing past my helmet. .
  •  I need to hear that idiot in the car’s hooter, warning me he is behaving as he is…
  •  I need to hear the song of the stream, as it plays hopscotch over the rocks in its bed.
  • I  need to hear Dire Straits, and Michael W Smith, I need to hear the worship of my congregation
  •  I live for the sound of a cello, and the victory of the trumpet, and what would life be without Joshua Bell?

Smell: 

  • Life would not be the same without the smell of a fresh bread leaving the oven.
  •  The smell of freshly ground filter coffee…
  •  The smell of a field of hay just mown, when I pass by at sunrise and the dew starts to go to heaven
  •  The smell of my wife on her pillow…
  •  The smell of the sea as the wave breaks over the boulders on the beach…
  •  I could not live without that…

Taste:

  •  Please don’t dull my taste buds… For I love the taste of water from a fresh mountain stream…
  •  I love the taste of sushi,  the salmon nigiri exploding with flavour in my mouth
  •  I love the taste of a good Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon in the company of friends.
  •  A medium rare steak, with a pepper sauce-  what would life be without that?

Feeling:

  •  How could I live if I could not feel the embrace of my family?
  •  How would I live without the feeling of a woman’s wondrous body? The satin smooth of her skin…
  •  How would I survive without the good vibrations of my BMW under me, telling me that we are ALIVE and the road is a joy!

No, Mister Magic Man, go harass someone else… I am happy just as I am… I do not need more, and I do not want less…  I am thankful for what I have received- it is enough…

17 thoughts on “Dulled- no thanks… (Daily Prompt)

  1. Pingback: Sensitive Me… | The Rider

  2. Pingback: On My Front Porch

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dulled | writinglikeastoner

  4. Pingback: If I Was A Tree In The Forest… | The Jittery Goat

  5. Very much enjoyed this. I agree. Although before I send Mr Magic Man away with a flea in his ear I’d ask him to sort out my vision and hearing, I could do with having them retuned.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wake Up Call | My Daily Prompt Blog

  7. Pingback: Natural Magic | Travellin' Thru Rambles

Leave a Reply

