Love is a beautiful song… and more… (Daily Prompt)

Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is

by michelle w. on May 11, 2013

We each have many types of love relationships — parents, children, spouses, friends. And they’re not always with people; you may love an animal, or a place. Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?

________________________________________

Foreigner asked this question when I was much younger… : “I want to know what love is…”   And since then, this question is still bugging me, and keeping me busy in my thoughts.  For I am a wedding official in our country.  Our Department of Home Affairs licenced me to perform weddings, that is binding by law…

As a marriage official, I have seen so much couples over the past two decades. And each of them had a song in their heart, with which they opened the dance floor after the wedding.  Some sing to each other the words of Josh Groban: “You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains…”   They sing to each other with Savage Garden: “Truly, madly deeply…” They look deep into each other’s eyes later in the evening and sing with Queen: “ You’re my best friend”  or Joe Cocker crones for them: “You are so beautiful…”   As the evening progresses the Boyz II Men promise: “I’ll make love to you...”  and one of my favourite songs… Eric Clapton, the master- “Beautiful Tonight…”  

Image

itsabrideslife.com

But how can a late night at the wedding reception not have Barry White, in that deep voice, singing: “My first, my last, my everything…”   or Elvis, the King, sings “ Love me tender…”   How could a wedding feast not have the Righteous Brothers singing: “Unchained Melody…”  or Lionel Ritchie and Diana Ross with ” Endless LOve

The beginning of love is a beautiful song…

But I, as a pastor, also see the other end of the journey in so many lives…

Even here are some songs applicable: U2- “With or without you…”   Sometimes doubt sets in… Tina Turner asks: “What’s love, but a secondhand emotion?

When there are no change of direction, Def Leppard cries: “Love hurts…”  The BeeGees begins to aslk: How deep is your love? 

It’s a sad day when Air Supply begins to say: “I’m all out of love”   And Joe Cocker cries: “Unbreak my heart…”   Like Heart, you can feel so “Alone” 

Image

urbanlegendkampala.com

Then the whole Country genre of music kicks in- your horse dies,, your dog bites you, all goes South…  “You piiiicked a fine time to leave me Lucille…” (Kenny Rogers)   And Shania Twain asks “Whose bed have your boots been under?”  Bummer.

Over a drink you cry with R.E.M “Everybody hurts...”  Till Roy Orbison declares: “It’s over…”   You go with Elvis to the “Heartbreak Hotel”.  Your “significant other is now, in your eyes, as Pat Benatar declares, a “Heartbreaker…”  You wish for just “ONe more night” with Phil Collins, but you had your chance…  And Linda Ronstadt says “It hurts so bad…”  Later all you can think about is: “Yesterday” (the Beatles). Yip, Bob MArley- “No woman no cry”

I have seen love’s beginning, and I have seen love’s end. Love does not have to end!  But it takes hard work to keep it alive and growing…

How to save your love?

  1.  Boston has it right. Love is “More than a feeling!”
  2.  Treasure each other- Shania Twain: “You’re still the one…
  3.  “Don’t you forget about me” – Simple Minds- Make the other one feel special.
  4. Nothing compares to you“- Sinead o’ Connor- wise words! Don’t Compare!
  5. You are always on my mind” Elvis- Think about how to be a good companion for life’s journey!
  6. In the arms of the angel” Sarah Maclachlin-  Give each other hugs, celebrate each other’s bodies…
  7.  “The first time, I ever saw your face” Roberta Flack – Remember, and celebrate your journey together!
  8.  “To where you are” Josh Groban- time spent together is important, make it count!
  9.  “I believe I can Fly” by R Kelly- Believe when you can’t see…
  10.  “The Greatest Love of all”– Whitney Housten- BE that to your lover!

But in the end- Foreigner still have the best answer to the question: “I want to know what Love is…” And that is… “I want you to show me…

Image

positivemed.com

25 thoughts on “Love is a beautiful song… and more… (Daily Prompt)

  1. Pingback: Love | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Such a beautiful post, all of the songs in the first group are ones I know well and Eric Clapton’s Beautiful Tonight would have to be one of my favorites. My loving partner and I have our own love song so to speak, its by Lee Kernaghan – Goondowindi Moon. My partner is an interstate truck driver and he drove about 3,000km when we first met by chance and then a few months later before he could move over to be with me, his boss made him do a really big trip of around 7,000km.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt : I want to Know What Love Is | writinglikeastoner

  4. Pingback: Seeking, Hoping, Believing – Love #wordpress #photography #love | Moondustwriter's Blog

  5. Pingback: I want to know what love is… specially prepared for Mother’s Day! | 3rdculturechildren

  6. Pingback: Love Ain’t What It Used To Be | The Jittery Goat

  7. I love this post. My husband and I had the band play Have I Told You Lately That I Love You. We both love that song and it is a bit of an inside joke with us because I am always saying I love you and he sometimes says I love you. Mind you, he shows me that he loves me in all kinds of great ways.
    I came here to say thanks for following my blog and I found this great post! Thanks so much.

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is « Mama Bear Musings

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Love IS | My Daily Prompt Blog

  10. Pingback: What Is Love? Daily Don’t Prompt Me! | Edward Hotspur

  11. The songs also says something of my age. I just do not believe Justin Bieber is qualified yet to say anything worth knowing about love…
    “Baby baby baby oooooohhh…”

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | On My Front Porch

Leave a Reply

