Travelling to exotic places through other’s blogs

I often have a few moments between appointments, or while taking a break when reading exciting ancient texts.  In these quiet times I love to travel. Maybe that is why I am such a big Doctor Who fan- the idea of jumping into the Tardis, and going off to some place at a certain time, visit it to hearts delight, and then arrive back two minutes later.

220px-TARDIS2

Well, I found a way to do it, thanks to WordPress.  One of the apps on my blog is the “Live statistics” world map from Revolver. If you click on it, the earth map becomes a revolving earth ball. On it there are red dots, from where readers of my blog connected.  Yesterday I saw there were still entire continents left, with no red dots on it. Like South America.

Well, I do love travelling with a passion. I only do not have the budget to do it often, it is quite expensive raising 4 kids in South Africa on a pastor’s salary.  I also do love people and their stories intensely.

So this is my new game. I go to the WordPress Reader. I enter the country where no one has seen my blog yet- like for instance Venezuela yesterday. I know Venezuela is a beautiful country with such magnificent natural beauty- like the Angel Falls. I also know Venezuela have some of the world’s most beautiful women- look at how often they win the Miss World beauty pageants.  I often imagine how it must be to live in a country, what the people are experiencing every day, what they eat, how they live, what makes them happy…

So I entered Venezuela in the reader, and started reading all the English blogs, sincerely commenting on a few.  And there it is- a red dot on Venezuela- someone there also have returned the favor and came to visit me- what an honour!

Venezuela, it seems, is on the brink of a civil war, after the death of President Hugo Chaves.  I really pray for peace and happiness for the good people of Venezuela. And I would love to visit your country one day.

Today, I am travelling to Italy. I love Italy a lot. I have been there for 3 days when I was 16 years old.  I was in love with Rome, even more today, now that I know quite a lot more about the Roman Empire. I would dearly love to go back there to see it all again, this time knowing the rich history of the place. I have stood in awe in front of Michelangelo’s Pieta statue in the St Peter’s Cathedral in the Vatican, thinking that this is the most beautiful artwork I have ever seen…

Image

I also visited Venice, although it was in the ebb- tide, so everything was under water.  We visited one of the many glassblowers, and it was so awesome to see that art being created right in front of us.  I remember thinking that the romantic canals were really dirty…

We also did a walkabout in Florence- beautiful city.

I would love to go back to Italy with my wife. I love the scenery of Tuscany, which I only have seen in movies like “UNder the Tuscan Sun“.

Image

I also love Italy a lot for creating one of my two motorbikes. My Aprilia Pegaso is a beautiful little bike, built with such an eye for beauty and functionality. The Italians do have a good eye for beauty in everything they do.

So today, when I get a minute or two, I am going off to Italy, reading what other bloggers experiences there.  I wish I could taste the food, drink the water from the stream, ride the roads on my bike,  looking at all the beautifully clad women from the sidewalk cafés.

Yes, Today I am off to Italy. Maybe I should have pizza tonight to celebrate- with olive oil, sundried tomatoes, rosemary…

52 thoughts on “Travelling to exotic places through other’s blogs

  1. Thank you for the like on my blog The Reluctant Retiree. You may perhaps care to follow as I am just at the beginning of a four month trip and plan on posting as regularly as Internet connections will allow me. There may be places of interest to you. Unfortunately, I cannot return the compliment at the moment as I on the move without a regular connection.
    Garrulous Gwendoline

  2. Pingback: Travelling to exotic places through other’s blogs | Kateri Wang

  3. Love to virtual travel as well but I usually enter places I’m about to visit. Haven’t tried picking a random country just because ~ great idea! Thanks for stopping by and following Displaced Beachbums. It gave me a chance to check out your blog which is very interesting. I’ll be following as well…

  4. Pingback: #WANAfriday: Travel Dreams and Six Great Int’l Travel-Photo Blogs | JaniceHeck

  5. You write so beautifully. You transported me along with you to those countries and now I need to hunt down that app you talked about so I can travel, too, even if I can’t have a Tardis of my own!

    • The WordPress reader? Part of WordPress- see the black adress bar of WordPress on top of your screen? There is a W in a circle on the extreme left- if you hover your mouse over it, the reader is the second button that shows on the list. Press it. The reader opens. Now in the right hand sidebar there is a button “Topics”. Just enter the country that you want to visit, and it will pop up all the blogs that has been tagged with that country’s name, starting with the most recent published. I also look there for all the Camino blogs, and like to visit “Travel” as well… Maybe you know all this- sorry- then the advice is here for all new bloggers that want to find interesting reading! Good travels!

  6. thanks for visiting my blog even though it’s not English-written ones. love your blog-travelling idea, hope someday you can visit all the red dots for real 🙂

  7. Thanks for visiting Saigon through my blog! Using travel blogs to explore foreign spaces no doubt gives you a unique perspective which would be difficult to achieve through new articles or documentaries. Good luck with your bucket list!

  8. What a beautiful idea! I get the same thrill from reading your blog that you get from reading the blogs of others. I hope I can write well enough to take you, even occasionally, on a trip with me. My DH rides a Yamaha 650 and I used to ride a Kawasaki 250. I’m afraid I do better on my feet than on two wheels. I’m going to borrow your trick of searching in other countries for blogs and see what happens! As they say in Germany, Auf Wiedersehen (or something like that).

  9. It absolutely amazes me where readers of my blog come from. (I’m a retiree living in a small pueblo in western Panama). I have had people from places like: the U.S, Canada and, of course Panama. But also places like Turkey, Azerbaijan, Coatia and Pakistan. What brought six people from the Maldives to my blog? Or Mauritius, Mozambique or Senegal? Sudan, Congo, Sri Lanka? It’s a mystery but cool as all get out.

  10. i’m going to try this – i love travel but right now lack the budget to do it physically :). however i am planning an actual visit to europe this fall – i have family in switzerland, and from there i will go to italy. i can’t wait – i’m obsessed with italy these days! thanks

  11. Visiting from New Zealand! Venice is amazing now, I visited in the heat of mid-July and the smell was completely gone – perhaps blog hop back over there!

    Thanks for your visit!

  12. ‘Under the Tuscan sun’ is one of my ALL-time favourite movies… I have yet to explore this gorgeous part of Italy…. Love the concept for your blog (and the name!!!) Always great so stumble across a fellow South African (also proud to be one!!!)… Hoop alles gaan goed daar onder in SA – ek wil net huistoe kom!!! Maar vir nou… ai! Kan nie wag om nog van jou stories te lees nie!!! Dankie vir die inloer!! 🙂 **

  13. Wat ‘n blinking oulike idee Ruiter!! Terwyl jy die wêreld sien leer jy ietsie en die grysmassa stagneer nie! Gaan beslis ‘n toer of twee onderneem

  14. Armchair travel at it’s best, with some social networking thrown in. I’ll raise a glass to you from Brugge on Saturday. Planning to see Michelangelo’s Madonna and Child.

  15. Ek sal nooit genoeg van Italië kan kry nie. Oor en oor en oor. Dit is nie net die mense of die geskiedenis of die helder see of die groen valleie nie…daar is iets aan Italië wat my siel kos gee, amper soos die gevoel van Afrika wat in my are bruis. Moenie dat ek eers begin met my lofsange oof Italië nie…..jy sal my begin verban van jou blog af uit totale boredom. 😆

  16. wow! Riding in English certainly gives you wings. (So, the sorrel horse turned out to be Pegasus!) I am happy for you, because you certainly have more freedom than you had before. Enjoy ( and I am a little envious too, see, maybe I should write in English more often….) And Yes, the Pieta is also my most beautiful statue. Enjoy your pizza and a glass of red wine.

Leave a Reply

