Monday back to work blog entry

Today I had to go back to work.  And the workweek started with a Global Focus meeting in Pretoria.

I rode to our capital with my colleague and his daughter- they had to finish some paperwork in the city for her to go back to South Korea, teaching English for a second year contract.

While we sat a long, long time in the dark and dangerous inner city, at the Police Criminal Record department, I had a long long time to think.

Instead of becoming frustrated with the inner city decay, I decided to think about some blessings in my life. I am so glad I do not have to work, or even go to Pretoria’s inner city very often!  I am so glad  I do not have to work in a government office, stacked with a huge backlog of files.

I am thankful for the work I do. I am thankful for so many good friends in my life. i am thankful for my wife and kids, they were the best choice in the whole wide world for me…

I also had the chance to take my daughter to breakfast. I am immensely proud to be her dad. Even if she is having a bit of a hard time at university at the moment.

I am thankful that I could help her today with her biggest problem, even if I do not have a clue how to exactly pay it…

I am thankful that I am employed, well-fed, well-loved, and all the people in my life are happy and healthy…  ok, not always so happy but nearly…

I am blessed. May i be a blessing to others as well.

Graphics borrowed from: widowsvoice-sslf.blogspot.com

3 thoughts on “Monday back to work blog entry

  1. Sela – there is always but always something to be thankful for!

    Vanoggend kry ek vir sommer ‘n potjie perske-it-goes-with-everything en solank jy die blessing in die geskenk van die lewe kan sien – kan jy enige iets handle – al dink jy dalk nie so nie.

  2. kan ek afrikaans gesels??????

    i am happy every day of my life even when i am sad, cause the reason for sadness will pass, but if you are unhappy with your life the way it is…….. well i think, then you have a problem!!!!!! because the choices we make is just that YOUR OWN CHOICE!!!!!!

  3. Yes, the words of a song I often heard as a child..”Count your blessings one by one….”We do always have more to be thankful for than we realise and yes u r a blessing to your congregation!

Leave a Reply

