Getting ready for Word Riders 2013

This Saturday I am leaving for a week long adventure with other pastors and some good people…  It is organized by the Bible Society of South Africa, and we will be visiting 31 schools along the way.

My BMW is ready for the journey… almost.

I had this doubt about my bike’s rear tire. Would it last for the journey of approx. 2000 km or not?  I have bought this bike with Michelin tires, a Tarmac in  front, and a Macadam in the rear.

This one big chain of motorcycle stores promised us a 20% discount on all stock in store, so I thought it good to go to Pretoria today, and get a new tire. But then… the manager would not budge- he only gives 7% discount on tires.  And his tires are damn expensive!

I went to my trusted supplier, and indeed, the Michelin Macadam is R700 (about $80) cheaper there than the Pilot 2 in the other store! Only one problem- out of stock… So today I had to drive around in Pretoria, because I really didn’t want to pay R1600+ for a Michelin Pilot 2 tyre.

Eventually I remembered that Silverton Midas advertises motorbike tires as well as their usual car parts. So I went there, and got a Metzeler Tourance for R1300.  I really hope this tire clings to the road in the bikers heaven of the Eastern Transvaal/ Mpumalanga province of South Africa. And I really hope I get good milage out of it, a pastor can’t afford to put such expensive tires on too regularly.  But I have learned my lessons at university. Maybe not enough of Karl Barth, but certainly that you need good rubber on your bike if you are going to test the limits…

I would love to hear other biker’s opinions, what tire you would use on a BMW R850 R (Roadster, not GS) in the tire size 150/70/17.

I still have to clean my bike properly. And I need to change the light bulb behind the speedometer, at night it is total darkness on my instrument panel. WE will not be driving at night on this trip- we have a small problem with wild animals jumping across the road at night, most notoriously the Kudu…  But it would be good to have this BMW back to a state where everything on board is actually doing it’s job.

I have heard we are a group of 31 motorbikes, some also with pillion riders… .3

Now I am really starting to get excited!

Christian friends who want to know more- here is the Word Riders blog.

Non- Christian friends- just wish us a safe journey and happy cornering… 🙂

5 thoughts on “Getting ready for Word Riders 2013

  1. And then I discovered on the Internet that this is a dueller tire! Well, then I will just have to get another one in front, and sometimes go do a little gravel road…

Leave a Reply

