When the Donkey is dead, dismount…

You can not flog a dead donkey into better performance.

I experienced this fact the hard way the last few weeks. My life was going along quite nicely, just the usual amount of bumps in the road to keep me awake.  I really thought I have figured everything out in life, I have all the answers that I need.

And one phone call was all it took to shake that world right into extinction mode.

Suddenly I have to re-evaluate everything in my life.  Some things that I really took for granted, like some friendships, are really being tested hard.

But maybe this also is a good place to be, although it doesn’t feel like that at the moment.

I have to really think about everything in my life.

My faith is being tested like never before.  My marriage is better than ever, I have been blessed with a wife who really meant it when she said she will walk the road with me for the rest of our lives.  It is really good to be the father of some teenagers, although that is always a bumpy ride as well!

I have to really think deep and hard about my employment. Do I really want to go on living the way I do now? Do I really need to be watching my back all the time when my job is very strongly built on relationships?  Do I need to keep continuing certain friendships, when it is destructive to my happiness?

My previous blog reflected the meekness of a donkey. But that donkey was killed along the way. It was a good friend, it brought me through some difficult times. But the time for meekness and timidness has passed. It is time to saddle up the warhorse, and stand up for who I am, and what I believe in.

A dead donkey might have been a good friend in the past. But sometimes something precious needs to be lost, to gain forward momentum. Sometimes a loss of old identity and worn out dreams are needed, to start looking towards the stars again, and dreaming new dreams.

Sometimes it is so hard to start over.  But it is better than the alternative.  Ecclesiastes 9:4 says something about it better being a live dog than a dead lion.

I choose to be a live horse instead of a dead donkey.  I am gaining the confidence to dare to dream again.  And my dreams will not be stolen by some small jackals!

14 thoughts on “When the Donkey is dead, dismount…

  1. We love horses for what they embody: freedom, spirit, adventure, perseverance, and drive. Horses are gentle, loyal, fierce friends and the ultimate travel companions who are willing to go the distance with you. – Ek het geen idee wie dit geskryf het nie.

    • Die perd is net meestal in die Bybel ‘n simbool van oorlog, die donkie van vrede… Die mees gevreesde wapen in die Ou Testament is die strydwa van die Egiptenare- ‘n verskrikking vir die voetsoldate van Israel…
      Maar ek wil ook nie hier met mense baklei nie- ek kies daardie definisie van perde wat jy hier bo gee!

  2. Ai Vlooikind het SO gelukkig nou.

    Weet jy Vosperd (daardie rol noggie lekker nie) ek het in my lewe al geleer dat ‘n mens die Woord moet loop en leef nie net lees nie.

Leave a Reply

